How do I file for workers compensation in Illinois?
Steps to Filing Workers Comp in Illinois
- Seek medical care. It is important that you seek medical care as soon as you know that you have sustained a workplace injury.
- Notify your employer.
- Employer response.
- Regularly report to your employer.
- Check the status of your claim.
How much does workers compensation pay in Illinois?
The state of Illinois’ compensation rate is two-thirds (66 2/3%) of the employee’s average weekly wage. The rate is subject to the state’s minimum and maximum compensation rates based on the date the victim was harmed. Any later change does not affect the rate, including the rate of inflation or maximum limits.
How long does it take to get workers comp approved in Illinois?
Parties are always able to get a trial date before the arbitrator. Like most court systems, most cases at the Commission are settled. On average, a settlement is approved about two years after a claim is filed. There is an expedited process for emergency situations.
Is Workers Comp required in Illinois?
Illinois law requires employers to provide workers’ compensation insurance for almost everyone who is hired, injured, or whose employment is localized in Illinois. An employer that knowingly and willfully fails to obtain insurance may be fined up to $500 for every day of noncompliance, with a minimum fine of $10,000.
How long do workers comp benefits last in Illinois?
In many cases, workers’ compensation benefits involve a one-time lump sum payment. However, there are scenarios where injured workers may receive benefits over a period of time due to a disability. In Illinois, workers’ compensation benefits can last anywhere from a few weeks to several years.
What is a TTD rate?
A worker’s TTD rate is typically two-thirds of his or her average weekly wages at the time of the injury. There are also maximum and minimum rate requirements. It is critical to do your own rate calculation, as sometimes, certain sources of income are left out of the calculation done by workers’ compensation insurers.
Can I see my own doctor for workers comp in Illinois?
Yes, you can typically choose to see whatever doctor you prefer for treatment although there are some restrictions under the Illinois Workers Compensation Act. Consult with an attorney to learn about any restrictions that may apply to your situation.