How does the American flag represent freedom?

How does the American flag represent freedom?

The American Flag should always be thought of as a strong symbol of our great nation. Freedom, justice, and bravery, this is what the flag means to me. It stands for freedom, bravery, and justice. The 50 stars represent the 50 states, while the 13 stripes represent the 13 original colonies.

What are 5 facts about the American flag?

10 Fun Facts About the American Flag There are 50 stars and 13 stripes on the American flag. History states that red, white and blue were chosen as the colors to represent valor (red), liberty and purity (white), and justice and loyalty (blue). There have been 27 official versions of the American flag, each with a different amount of stars.

What Flag Day means to me?

In the United States, Flag Day is celebrated on June 14. It commemorates the adoption of the flag of the United States on J, by resolution of the Second Continental Congress.

What does a flag mean to you?

The American flag represents freedom, individual rights and justice with a sense of respect. Wherever we go in this country or around the world, Americans represent our flag as much as it represents us.

How many stars are there in American flag?

50 stars

Does America have 2 flags?

The people of the United States actually have two national flags: one for our military government and another for the civil. Each one has fifty stars in its canton, and thirteen red and white stripes, but there are several important differences.

Why are there 52 stars on the American flag?

The 50 stars on the flag represent the 50 states of the United States of America, and the 13 stripes represent the thirteen British colonies that declared independence from the Kingdom of Great Britain, and became the first states in the U.S. Nicknames for the flag include the Stars and Stripes, Old Glory, and the Star …

Are there 52 states in the United States?

There are fifty (50) states and Washington D.C.The last two states to join the Union were Alaska (49th) and Hawaii (50th). Both joined in 1959.

What was the last 2 states?

The United States in Order of StatehoodOrderStateDate Admitted48Arizona1912-2-1449Alaska1959-1-350Hawaii1959-8-21Puerto Rico189848

What 2 states are not part of the continental US?

The terms exclude the non-contiguous states of Alaska and Hawaii, and all other off-shore insular areas, such as American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, Guam and Puerto Rico.

What is the difference between conterminous and continental United States?

Use contiguous, or conterminous, for the 48 states. The continental United States comprises the 48 contiguous, or conterminous, states plus Alaska. See also Alaska, United States.

What states are part of the continental US?

Continental United States: The 49 States (including Alaska, excluding Hawaii) located on the continent of North America, and the District of Columbia.

Which state is not in the United States?


What are the 50 US states?

Alphabetical List of 50 StatesAlabama. Alaska. Arizona. Arkansas. California. Colorado. Connecticut. Delaware. Florida. Indiana. Iowa. Kansas. Kentucky. Louisiana. Maine. Maryland. Massachusetts. Nebraska. Nevada. New Hampshire. New Jersey. New Mexico. New York. North Carolina. North Dakota. Rhode Island. South Carolina. South Dakota. Tennessee. Texas. Utah. Vermont. Virginia.

What countries are out of the United States?

US citizens living abroadMexico – 899,311 United States-born residents of Mexico (2017)European Union – 800,000 (2013; all EU countries combined)Canada – 738,203 (2011)India – 700,000 according to a press release from the White House on Philippines – 600,000 (2015)Brazil – 260,000.Israel – 185,000.

What letter has the most states?

There are 8 states that start with M and 8 states that start with N. Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri and Montana. Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina and North Dakota.

What is the most useless state in America?


What state has the letter B in it?

No states except Alabama and Nebraska have a B in their name, and California and Florida are the only state names that contain F. If X was your guess, you were also close—the rare letter makes an appearance in only New Mexico and Texas.