What is the name for New Hebrides?

What is the name for New Hebrides?

Yes, we are now 40 years. Our founding fathers changed the name, New Hebrides to Vanuatu. This is fine and okay, as the word ‘Vanu’ or ‘Vanua’ means ‘islands or land’ and the word ‘atu’ means ‘go forward’ and ‘tu’ means ‘stand’.

What country owns New Hebrides?

For small as the New Hebrides group is, it has a government that is distinctive. The islands are a colony of both Britain and France. These two old ladies of Europe govern jointly in an atmosphere of bumptious rivalry worthy of a Gilbert and Sullivan operetta.

Why was Vanuatu called New Hebrides?

Europeans did not return until 1768, when Louis Antoine de Bougainville visited the islands, naming them the Great Cyclades. In 1774, Captain Cook named the islands the New Hebrides, a name that lasted until independence.

When did New Hebrides become Vanuatu?

July 30, 1980
Despite an unsuccessful attempt in mid-1980 by Jimmy Stevens, the Na-Griamel Party leader, to establish the independence of the island of Espiritu Santo from the rest of the group, the New Hebrides became independent within the Commonwealth under the name of the Republic of Vanuatu on July 30, 1980; the next month it …

Where are the New Hebrides?

New Hebrides Trench, submarine trench in the southwestern Pacific Ocean, on the periphery of the Coral Sea, between the islands of Vanuatu and New Caledonia. It reaches maximum depths of some 25,000 feet (7,600 metres) or more, the deepest soundings in the whole Coral Sea region.

What was Vanuatu formerly known as?

the New Hebrides
Formerly the jointly administered Anglo-French condominium of the New Hebrides, Vanuatu achieved independence in 1980. The name Vanuatu means “Our Land Forever” in many of the locally used Melanesian languages.

Who was Vanuatu Colonised by?

New Hebrides was the colonial name for the Island group in the South Pacific that now forms the nation of Vanuatu. The New Hebrides was colonised by both the British and French in the 18th century shortly after Captain James Cook visited the islands.

How many islands are there in Vanuatu?

Vanuatu is a double chain of 13 principal and many smaller islands in the south-western Pacific Ocean. The islands are volcanic and coral in origin. They lie about 800 kilometres west of Fiji and nearly 1800 kilometres east of Australia. Around 65 of the islands are inhabited.

Where are the Inner Hebrides?

Inner Hebrides, islands off the Atlantic (western) coast of Scotland. In contrast with the Outer Hebrides, the Inner Hebrides lie close to the west coast of Scotland.

What was Vanuatu before independence?

In 1774, Captain Cook named the islands the New Hebrides, a name that lasted until independence. During the 1860s, planters in Australia, Fiji, New Caledonia, and Samoa, in need of labourers, began a slave trade called “blackbirding”.

Does Vanuatu speak French?

One of the smallest nations, Vanuatu is also linguistically the most diverse. In addition to its English-lexifier pidgin national language, English and French are official languages.