What years were the amendments passed?

What years were the amendments passed?

Ten of the proposed 12 amendments were ratified by three-fourths of the state legislatures on December 15, 1791. The ratified Articles (Articles 3–12) constitute the first 10 amendments of the Constitution, or the U.S. Bill of Rights.

How long did it take to pass the 27th Amendment?

200 years
It was first proposed in 1789, but it took 200 years and a campaign by a Texas university student before it was finally ratified. There’s nothing particularly extraordinary about the content of the 27th Amendment to the Constitution.

What are some modern examples of the 27 amendments?

amendment 27 example- In April 9th , 2013 Bel Air-based is being invested for allegedly defrauding clients many of whom may run small business in Harford County, by failing for years to remit their tax payments to federal & tax collectors. The Los Angeles news said they will make alcohol illegal for teens under the age of 18. amendment 3

What are the 27 constitutional amendments?

Amendments 1 – 27 (With Summary) Amendment I. Guarantees the right to the freedoms of speech, press, and religion. Protects the right to petition the government. Amendment II. Guarantees the peoples rights to own and bear arms for defense. Amendment III. Citizens cannot be forced to quarter soldiers during times of peace.

Which of the 27 amendments?

remembering the 27 amendments. Terms in this set (27) 1st amendment. freedom of religion, press, speech, assembley. 2nd amendment. freedom to bare arms. 3rd amendment. No military in your home except in war time. 4th amendment. No unreasonable searches. 5th amendment. The right to remain silent and not incriminate yourself.

What is the 27 amendment and the meaning?

The US Constitution. The 27th Amendment is an amendment of the United States’ supreme law, called the U.S. Constitution. It prevents any changes made to the salaries of Congress members from taking effect until the members of the House of Representatives—one of the two houses that comprise the bicameral legislature—have been elected.