Which country currently chairs the Arctic Council?

Which country currently chairs the Arctic Council?

Russia has now officially assumed the role of chair of the Arctic Council. After receiving the chair from Iceland, Russia will stay in the position until 2023, spending the next two years at the head of the group of circumpolar nations with a focus on responsible governance and sustainability in the Arctic.

What does the Arctic Council do?

The Arctic Council is the leading intergovernmental forum promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, Arctic Indigenous peoples and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular on issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic.

Who is the head of the Arctic Council?

Chairmanship of the Council rotates every two years. The current chair is Russia, which serves until the Ministerial meeting in 2023.

What are the 8 Arctic states?

The members of the Arctic Council include the eight Arctic States (Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Russian Federation, and the United States).

Is China a member of Arctic Council?

Since May 2013, China has been an accredited observer to the Arctic Council, which is the preeminent regional organization of the eight Arctic states to address environmental and sustainable development issues.

How are decisions made in the Arctic Council?

Arctic Council assessments and recommendations are the result of analysis and efforts undertaken by the Working Groups. Decisions of the Arctic Council are taken by consensus among the eight Arctic Council States, with full consultation and involvement of the Permanent Participants.

What is the weakness of the Arctic Council?

In order of priority, they include the lack of a permanent secretariat, weak coordination with global organizations, insufficient coordination with re- gional organizations, lack of participation on the part of industry and the private sector, the fact that decisions are made exclusively by consensus, and a lack of …

Who funds the Arctic Council?

While the Arctic Council Secretariat seems adequately funded (1.24 million USD in 2017, with Norway contributing half), it has very little discretionary funding. Similarly, the Working Groups rely on one or two states to fund a secretariat but have limited ongoing project funds.

Who belongs to the Arctic Council?

Arctic Council members The Arctic Council comprises the eight Arctic states: Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark (which includes the autonomous constituent countries of Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States.

Do people live in the Arctic?

4 million people are believed to be living in the Arctic today, but only very few live in the most icy regions. About 12.5 percent of the Arctic population of four million is indigenous peoples: Aleuts, Athabascans, Gwich’in, Inuit, Sami, and the many indigenous peoples of the Russian Arctic.

Why is the Arctic so cold?

Both the Arctic (North Pole) and the Antarctic (South Pole) are cold because they don’t get any direct sunlight. The Sun is always low on the horizon, even in the middle of summer. In winter, the Sun is so far below the horizon that it doesn’t come up at all for months at a time. The Arctic is ocean surrounded by land.

Does China claim the Artic?

China has been steadily affirming its presence in the region, in 2018 declaring itself a “near-Arctic state”. Meanwhile, the debate among scholars, media and the public is still ongoing as to what is its rightful place in the Arctic.