What are the 15 different departments?

What are the 15 different departments?

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the …

How many government agencies are there?

An even more inclusive listing comes from USA.gov, which lists 137 independent executive agencies and 268 units in the Cabinet. That’s right: There is “no authoritative list of government agencies.”…How Many Federal Agencies Exist?

Unified Agenda 61
United States Government Manual 316
Federal Register agency list 440
USA.gov tally 443

What are the types of government agencies?

In the U.S. government, there are four general types: cabinet departments, independent executive agencies, regulatory agencies, and government corporations.

What are the 5 departments?

The Executive departments are:

  • The Department of State.
  • The Department of the Treasury.
  • The Department of Defense.
  • The Department of Justice.)
  • The Department of the Interior.
  • The Department of Agriculture.
  • The Department of Commerce.
  • The Department of Labor.

How many agencies does the US have?

These are the main agencies of the federal government. The heads of these 15 agencies are also members of the president’s cabinet.

What is the largest government agency?

Top 10 Federal Agencies Experiencing Largest Growth in the Number of FOIA Lawsuits Filed

FY 2011 Rank Organization Percent Change
FY 2011 vs. FY 2010
1 Department of Veterans Affairs 80.0%
2 Central Intelligence Agency 60.0%
2 Social Security Administration 60.0%

What are the 8 types of government?

Some of the different types of government include a direct democracy, a representative democracy, socialism, communism, a monarchy, an oligarchy, and an autocracy. Help your students understand the different forms of government with these classroom resources.

What are the three government agencies?

The Federal Government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the U.S. Constitution in the Congress, the President, and the Federal courts, respectively.

What department is the CIA under?

the Director of National Intelligence
Since 2004 the CIA is organized under the Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI). Despite transferring some of its powers to the DNI, the CIA has grown in size as a response to the September 11 attacks….Central Intelligence Agency.

Agency overview
Website www.cia.gov

How many departments are in the US government?

There are currently 15 executive departments. The heads of the executive departments receive the title of Secretary of their respective department, except for the Attorney General who is head of the Justice Department (and the Postmaster General who until 1971 was head of the Post Office Department).

What are the 15 agencies of the federal government?

Office of the United States Trade Representative; Executive Departments. These are the main agencies of the federal government. The heads of these 15 agencies are also members of the president’s cabinet. U.S. Department of Agriculture; U.S. Department of Commerce; U.S. Department of Defense; U.S. Department of Education; U.S. Department of Energy

Where can I find a list of federal agencies and departments?

Visit USA.gov for a current list of federal agencies, commissions and departments. Each executive department collects and publishes unique information. Consult the departmental pages listed below, and the links to highlighted publications, resources, agencies and administrations to learn more!

What are the different departments of the federal government?

Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources: Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications: Department of Parliamentary Services: Department of Social Services: Department of the House of Representatives: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet: Department of the Senate: Department of the Treasury

What agencies are part of the legislative branch?

Agencies and other entities within the legislative branch: Senate. House of Representatives. Architect of the Capitol (AOC) Capitol Visitor Center. United States Botanic Garden (USBG) Congressional Budget Office (CBO) Government Accountability Office (GAO) Government Publishing Office (USGPO)