What are the benefits of Durga Saptashati?

What are the benefits of Durga Saptashati?

(i) The Mantra given below helps you eliminate fear. By chanting this Mantra, you can rid yourself from the stress caused due to anxiety. (ii) The following Mantra dedicated to the Katyayani form of Durga helps devotees derive strength and courage in difficult times.

Is Devi Mahatmyam same as Durga Saptashati?

Devi Mahatmyam is also known as the Durgā Saptashatī (दुर्गासप्तशती) or Shri Chandi (श्री चण्डी). The text contains 700 verses arranged into 13 chapters. The Devi Mahatmyam is often ranked in some Hindu traditions to be as important as the Bhagavad Gita.

Can we recite Durga Saptashati?

5- It is said that recitation of Durga Saptashati is difficult in Sanskrit language, then you can do it in Hindi also. 6- It is said that while reciting Durga Saptashati, the mind should be in a calm and steady-state and while reciting mantras should be correct.

What is the procedure to read Durga Saptashati?

It should not be silently read. During the time of reading, one should not talk, think, sleep, sneeze, yawn or spit, but read with full concentration on Devi. One should not stop in the middle of a chapter and the book should be placed on a stand, preferably a copper or wooden plate.

Why is Chandi Path done?

Chandi Path is a holy scripture. ‘Chand’ in Sanskrit means to ‘tear apart’. When a person recites the Chandi path, he is unconsciously made aware of the presence of the divine power, which will guide him out of all his troubles. The Chandi path is also called the Durga Saptasati.

What is Saptasati?

The Saptashati is probably the oldest extant text in the world devoted entirely to a fiercely independent goddess who is also The Supreme Being — The Ultimate Godhead — The Divine Feminine. The Goddess Durga as we know her today has been shaped to a large extent by this text.

How long does it takes to read Durga Saptashati?

It is very long: you can’t complete it all daily on one go. Even if you are very fluent, it will take min 3–4 hours. For amateurs, it would take 5–7 hours.

Can we read Durga Saptashati in English?

The Saptashati (originally composed in Sanskrit) has been translated into most Indian languages and English.

Can anyone chant Devi Mahatmyam?

Do not chant devi mahatmyam if you are not initiated into the chandi navakshari. The durga saptashati is not a collection of shlokas. They are all mantras since they have beejas. This should be learnt from a guru.

What is the difference between Devi Bhagavatam and Devi Mahatmyam?

Devi Bhagavatam is not a Maha-Purana, rather it’s a Upa-Purana. It is heavily interpolated, for in Brahma Khanda of Garuda Purana, Devi Bhagavatam is mentioned as a Upa Purana, and is described to be Rajasic & Tamasic. However, Devi Bhagavatam claims itself to be a Mahapurana.

What is Durga Saptashati path with Samput Puja?

The special Puja for Navratri, the Durga Saptashati Path with Samput Puja aims at negating all obstacles and troubles from one’s life. Being performed by learned brahmin priests for 9 days, the Durga Saptashati Path Puja includes a closing, or Samput for specific problems.

What is the story of Durga Saptashati?

Durga Saptashati which is also known as Devi Mahatmya and Chandi Path is a Hindu religious text describing the victory of the Goddess Durga over the demon Mahishasura. It is part of the Markandeya Purana, written by sage Markandeya.

Which Charitra should be read first in Durga Saptashati?

The Durga Saptashati is composed of three main sections or Charitras, the first or Pratham Charitra, the second or Madhyam Charitra and the Uttar or third Charitra. Read the Madhyam Charitra first, followed by the Pratham Charitra and lastly the Uttar Charitra. The Uttar Charitra should be concluded by the Samput Mantra- Shulen pahi…..

What is a ritualistic Durga Saptashati reading?

A ritualistic reading of Durga Saptashati is part of the Navratri (nine days of worship in the months of April and October) celebrations in the honor of the Goddess Durga. It is the base and root of the Shakta tradition.